Trouble loading forum

About Moya's forum, for site-related issues. Please start your site-related issue as a new topic and one of us will come along and advise.

Moderator: All Moderators

Trouble loading forum

Postby irish at heart » Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:11 am

For the past few nights, I have had issues with loading the forum..I'm here and I try to respond to a topic, it lets me make a few posts, then it gives me a "page not responding."
Follow the word
Follow the hope
Follow the dream..
User avatar
irish at heart
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:27 am
Location: where I stand

Re: Trouble loading forum

Postby Methica » Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:41 am

irish at heart wrote:For the past few nights, I have had issues with loading the forum..I'm here and I try to respond to a topic, it lets me make a few posts, then it gives me a "page not responding."

Have that too, but if you press back and then continue on the forum it works:)
So if it´s having "page not responding" press back , and mostly it works again then, and you can coninue your "tour" in the forum..LOL
Imperfect is the new perfect
User avatar
Methica
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Angoid » Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:18 am

A number of people have been reporting this problem, and it is being investigated.

Just so you're aware, I did a small forum update back at the start of this month (but it was late at night, so nobody would have noticed or been booted off while I was doing it) but that was well before this started happening.

I've personally not had any problems accessing the site. Is it just the forums or is it the main Moya Brennan site that is affected by this?
If you don't know what eschatology is then don't worry; it's not the end of the world.
Purveyor of fine sarcasm since 1966.
Angoid
Technical Administrator
 
Posts: 3674
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:08 pm
Location: In the cave

Postby ChrisRLG » Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:18 pm

It seems to be a blockage along the route to the server.

Using your "command Prompt" (or DOS box) type the following command.

tracert forum.moyabrennan.com

then copy paste the data to this topic.

With me the slowdown was as the link reached Ireland - well before reaching the hosting service or this server.
MS MVP 2005-6 to 2008-9

Please post the secret code: 'Shakey Lemon
User avatar
ChrisRLG
Technical Administrator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:53 pm

Postby Methica » Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:15 pm

Angoid wrote:A number of people have been reporting this problem, and it is being investigated.

Just so you're aware, I did a small forum update back at the start of this month (but it was late at night, so nobody would have noticed or been booted off while I was doing it) but that was well before this started happening.

I've personally not had any problems accessing the site. Is it just the forums or is it the main Moya Brennan site that is affected by this?


I think just the forum,,
But it mostly works, and the back-thingy works for me so:P
Imperfect is the new perfect
User avatar
Methica
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby lilly » Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:36 pm

Yeah...this happens to me sometimes as well. I'm pretty sure it's only the forum.
"Not all those who wander are lost." - J.R.R. Tolkien
User avatar
lilly
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby Keiko » Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:34 am

Well, that's really odd! I had the same thing as wel! But I thought it has something to do with our Internetconnection (it sucks bytheway) :roll:

~Lost my Heart in Ireland.. Great country, nice people, beautiful places.. I just luv it!


My Blog Keiko's Place
User avatar
Keiko
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:58 pm
Location: Not in Ireland anymore.. :'(

Postby irish at heart » Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:57 am

It's just the forum for me, not the main page..that always loads right for me.
Follow the word
Follow the hope
Follow the dream..
User avatar
irish at heart
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:27 am
Location: where I stand

Postby AndyPandy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:00 pm

here is the result of my traceroute

Tracing route to forums.moyabrennan.com [82.195.129.128]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 198 ms 167 ms 171 ms imsnet-cl10-hg17-bletchley.mdip.bt.net [212.140.
212.87]
3 215 ms 196 ms 632 ms 192.168.250.61
4 310 ms 168 ms 774 ms 172.16.93.29
5 2338 ms 3915 ms 2813 ms 213.120.62.177
6 3364 ms 2207 ms 166 ms core2-pos4-2.bletchley.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.197.1
37]
7 169 ms 159 ms 164 ms core2-pos13-0.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.201.97]

8 164 ms 164 ms 160 ms core2-pos1-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.201
.86]
9 153 ms 151 ms 149 ms ge9-1.mpr2.lhr1.uk.above.net [208.185.156.217]
10 150 ms 152 ms 149 ms so-0-0-0.mpr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [64.125.27.226]

11 166 ms 168 ms 165 ms 213.161.92.158
12 166 ms 168 ms 159 ms 82.195.143.129
13 175 ms 170 ms 167 ms bashful.hosting365.ie [82.195.128.11]
14 167 ms 169 ms 168 ms web4.hosting365.ie [82.195.129.128]

Trace complete.
Music is food for the soul.
User avatar
AndyPandy
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby ChrisRLG » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:06 pm

wooooow.

That is bad - but you can see that the problem is in the connecting routers - well before this server.

Are you on dialup - as even that first hop took a long time.

3 215 ms 196 ms 632 ms 192.168.250.61


That one is strange as that IP code should NEVER be seen on the internet
192.168.x.x are all supposed to be behind routers off the main system.
So how that one gets into that list is very stange.

4 310 ms 168 ms 774 ms 172.16.93.29
5 2338 ms 3915 ms 2813 ms 213.120.62.177


that hop is the worst - and looks like you should complain to your ISP.
MS MVP 2005-6 to 2008-9

Please post the secret code: 'Shakey Lemon
User avatar
ChrisRLG
Technical Administrator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:53 pm

Postby AndyPandy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:11 pm

Yeah Chris we are on dial up and shall remain so for a good while. Our line is way too long to support broadband...

I connect through a proxy server (yes a dial up proxy) which is 192.168.0.1

i've no idea how the other 192.168. address got in there... thats outside of my system so probably some cock up in the ISP somewhere? As for slow forum loading I don't think i'd notice it anyway as dial up is slow for everything!

Also just done another traceroute and that massive delay is gone this time, freak occurance maybe?
Last edited by AndyPandy on Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Music is food for the soul.
User avatar
AndyPandy
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby ChrisRLG » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:36 pm

Ok

this is what this set of code means to me.

This is when your packet arrives at your ISP - I think it will be named something like IMSNET, or that is probably an abeviation.

2 198 ms 167 ms 171 ms imsnet-cl10-hg17-bletchley.mdip.bt.net [212.140. 212.87]


This is internal to your ISP - they are using a router to mask off the whole of thier clients into only one or two seperate IP's which you all then use to access the internet. This would save them a lot of money as they do not need to give live IP's (which cost money) to clients.

3 215 ms 196 ms 632 ms 192.168.250.61


Still inside your ISP area

4 310 ms 168 ms 774 ms 172.16.93.29


I think this is still inside your ISP's area. Where the main bottleneck was.

5 2338 ms 3915 ms 2813 ms 213.120.62.177


This is now arrived with BT at thier bletchley site

6 3364 ms 2207 ms 166 ms core2-pos4-2.bletchley.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.197.1 37]



This shows someone with a similar tracert (with an answer).

http://www.experts-exchange.com/Securit ... 26893.html

the answer they got is that the 192.168.x.x range is often used in ISP's private network areas. That you should not worry about it.

BUT the time delay is something else - that is what has caused you your internet speed problem.
MS MVP 2005-6 to 2008-9

Please post the secret code: 'Shakey Lemon
User avatar
ChrisRLG
Technical Administrator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:53 pm

Postby AndyPandy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:13 pm

I just tried another traceroute and got much better figures on hops 4 & 5. temporary lag I think. :)

4 150 ms 146 ms 148 ms 172.16.93.29
5 145 ms 151 ms 146 ms 213.120.62.177
Music is food for the soul.
User avatar
AndyPandy
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Sheffield

Postby ChrisRLG » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:35 pm

That is what I think most users are getting - route glitchs - although they think they are server issues.
MS MVP 2005-6 to 2008-9

Please post the secret code: 'Shakey Lemon
User avatar
ChrisRLG
Technical Administrator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:53 pm

Postby lilly » Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:06 am

Angoid wrote:Is it just the forums or is it the main Moya Brennan site that is affected by this?


Okay...I just noticed that when the forum does this, the main Moya site does the same. It's happened to me twice today.
"Not all those who wander are lost." - J.R.R. Tolkien
User avatar
lilly
Addicted to Moya
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:05 pm
Location: USA

Next

Return to Administrator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron